(202) 420.7873
(Washington, DC) – Log Cabin Republicans thank the bipartisan majority in the House of Representatives, including fifteen Republicans, for voting in favor of H.R. 6520 and call upon Republicans in the Senate to quickly act and pass H.R. 6520.
“Today the House of Representatives voted to enact the clear will of the American people, which demands that ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ be stricken from the books,” said R. Clarke Cooper, Log Cabin Republicans Executive Director. “The bipartisan majority acted in accordance with the advice of the Secretary of Defense and the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, both of whom believe not only that smooth implementation of open service is possible, but that it is the right thing to do at this time. Log Cabin Republicans call upon Republicans in the United States Senate to join Senator Susan Collins and pass repeal of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ as soon as possible. Self-identified conservatives and Republicans across the United States support allowing gays and lesbians to serve honestly.“This policy has been studied, it was subject of multiple Congressional hearings, and tried in a federal court of law. The consistent analysis concludes ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ is not necessary to military readiness but is, in fact, corrosive to the core values of our armed forces. Senators have the chance now to stand on the right side of history by voting for the integrity of our men and women in uniform. Senators who choose to ignore the will of the American people and the recommendations of the Department of Defense limit the full potential of our armed services.”

Log Cabin Republicans allies who voted for H.R. 6520 are:


– Representative Judy Biggert (R-IL) – Representative David Dreier (R-CA)
– Representative Mary Bono Mack (R-CA) – Representative Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)
– Representative John Campbell (R-CA) – Representative Jeff Flake (R-AZ)
– Representative Anh ‘Joseph’ Cao (R-LA) – Representative Ron Paul (R-TX)
– Representative Mike Castle (R-DE) – Representative Todd Platts (R-PA)
– Representative Charlie Dent (R-PA) – Representative Dave Reichert (R-WA)
– Representative Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL) – Representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
– Representative Charles Djou (R-HI)




Log Cabin Republicans is the only Republican organization dedicated to representing the interests of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans and their allies. The more than 30-year old organization has state and local chapters nationwide, a full-time office in Washington, DC, a federal political action committee and state political action committees.