“Log Cabin Republicans is supportive of the effort to extend federal nondiscrimination protection to all LGBT Americans. We cannot sit idly by while our colleagues, friends, and family can be legally stripped of their employment or have the roof snatched from over their heads simply because of their sexual orientation or gender identity. At present, only 20 states and the District of Columbia expressly prohibit such discrimination.

“But any equality law must strike a delicate balance between protecting LGBT individuals from true injustice while preserving hard fought advancements for women and a longstanding commitment to the individual right to practice their religion. The Equality Act in its current form is close to good, but we envision better. Our vision for legislation that honors religious liberty and upholds the rights LGBT Americans is shared by numerous Republicans in the House and Senate. It is Log Cabin Republicans belief that a more nuanced bill expressly upholding these values will draw the bipartisan support necessary to make federal nondiscrimination protections a reality.

“Nuance aside, Log Cabin Republicans thanks Representatives Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Jenniffer Gonzales-Colon (R-PR-at large) and John Katko (R-NY) for continually forging a path for other Republicans to follow on issues of LGBT equality. Both Representatives were also among the 17 House Republicans who signed on to former Rep. Scott Taylor’s Fair and Equal Housing Act during the 115th Congress, and their commitment to securing freedom for all Americans is commendable.

“It’s time to pass federal nondiscrimination protection, and Log Cabin Republicans applauds the Members of Congress willing to take the first step in achieving it.”

Log Cabin Republicans is the nation’s premier Republican organization representing LGBT conservatives and straight allies. For more than 40 years we have advocated for an inclusive Republican Party with state and local chapters nationwide, a full-time office in Washington, D.C., a federal political action committee and state political action committees.