(202) 420.7873
(Washington, DC) – On Tuesday, September 20th, Log Cabin Republicans will recognize its allies for their roles in the repeal of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ on the day the policy officially ends. The Spirit of Lincoln Awards Dinner will be headlined by repeal champions Senators Susan Collins and Scott Brown, as well as Representatives Richard Hanna and Nan Hayworth, freshman legislators who have distinguished themselves as allies since coming to Congress in 2010.

The Log Cabin Republicans Spirit of Lincoln Award recognizes conservative leaders and allies who have been steadfast supporters in the fight for equal rights. This year’s recipients are:
  • Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
  • Senator Scott Brown (R-MA)
  • Representative Richard Hanna (R-NY)
  • Representative Nan Hayworth (R-NY)
“Log Cabin Republicans plays a vital role within the Republican Party which increasingly recognizes the need for inclusion and unity around core conservative values,” said Log Cabin Republicans Executive Director R. Clarke Cooper. “We celebrate the repeal of the failed and unconstitutional ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ policy and honor the courageous leadership of Senator Collins, without whom this landmark victory would not have been possible. We are also proud to honor several new allies in the fight for freedom in Senator Brown and Representatives Hanna and Hayworth. We look forward to working with these principled leaders to build a stronger Republican party.”
Prior to the Dinner, Log Cabin Republicans will hold a private reception to benefit its Political Action Committee featuring the award recipients along with Representatives Judy Biggert (R-IL), Charlie Dent (R-PA) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL). Funds will be used to help elect and reelect pro-equality Republicans to Congress.


Log Cabin Republicans is the only Republican organization dedicated to representing the interests of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans and their allies. The more than 30-year old organization has state and local chapters nationwide, a full-time office in Washington, DC, a federal political action committee and state political action committees.